Helpful Baskets!

The first few months with a new baby can be very stressful.  You are exhausted, sore, and if you are a first time mom, like me, maybe a little nervous.  Something that made my first few months a little easier were my breastfeeding and diaper changing baskets.  I actually still use my diaper changing basket for my son today.

I saw the idea for a breastfeeding gift basket on pinterest and I thought it was a cute gift.  As I thought about it a little more I decided that I wanted one for myself.  Since my bedroom is upstairs in my home I knew I wouldn’t want to be going up and down the stairs a lot after the baby was born.  I am so glad I made myself one of these baskets.


breastfeeding

They are simple to organize and will save you time and much needed energy by having everything you need within reach.  For the breastfeeding basket, I included the following:  a water bottle/cute coffee insulated cup (you will be thirsty!!!), burp clothes, nipple guard, coconut oil (nipple cream), hand sanitizer, and chapstick.  You could also include a notebook for tracking feedings (I used a phone app) and pen.  I put all my items in a bright color tote basket with a handle which only cost me a dollar! 🙂   I carried this basket everywhere!

I also created a diaper changing basket with everything I needed for a diaper change.  In the beginning, I learned very quickly that we were not really changing the baby on his changing table.  I would change him in the pack ‘n’ play and in my bedroom mostly since he was sleeping in our room.  Most of the time I needed these items in these two places.  I could have doubled up on everything but I found it easier to do a diaper basket.  In this basket initially I included: diapers, wipes, sanitizing wipes (for wiping down changing surface messes & hands), and diaper cream.  As my son has gotten older I have updated my basket a little bit.  Since we are using cloth diapers I have: a wet bag, changing pad (I seem to change him all over the house now!), a distraction toy, and a few diaper liners.

0903141834

These both make great gift ideas, but even if you don’t receive one as a gift…you can always make your own! 🙂

Lots of Love,

Kia Elise 09.03.2014

Leave a Reply

