Showers and Safety

I know it has been a few weeks since my last post, but everything is still going well.  I am now 39 weeks!  I can’t believe it but time has moved very quickly.  Over the last few weeks we have been attending our weekly visits with our midwives and been trying to prepare for the baby to arrive.  We know he can come at any time now!  🙂

01.23.14 39 weeks

About two weeks ago my friends threw me a web shower.  This was an idea that one of my friends came up with since we all lived in different states (and even one person was out of the country).  It was great and we did it using Google Hangouts.  Six of us were on the call and the shower involved games, gifts, desserts, and more.  We weren’t really sure how it would go since we had never done it before but it ended up being a lot of fun.  They even arranged for some desserts to be shipped to me for the shower.  All in all I felt very special, laughed a lot, and was showered with lots of love.  This is definitely a great option for people with family all over the US, but wanting to still do something special.  Below is a picture of our shower program, desserts (red velvet cookies!), and some of my gifts.  The desserts were from Bert’s Cake Studio…so YUMMY!

01.23.14

One thing we knew we needed to do was install our car seats so we would be ready at any time to head to the hospital so, this week we had our car seat bases installed.  At first we were thinking about installing them ourselves, but we decided we should go and make sure they were done correctly.  We went to the Car Seat Inspection Station Locator site and found the closest inspection location.  We actually learned a lot and I probably would NOT have installed my car seat correctly.  We ended up going to the local health department and the person explained how to put the baby in the car seat properly.  Then we went outside and installed each base in our car.  It was fairly quick and I definitely learned a lot about using car seats.

Now we are just waiting for the baby to arrive…so my next post might be welcoming our new baby.  I hope to have a great birth story to share with you all.

Until next time!

Kia Elise 01.23.14

Leave a Reply

