Reading up before baby…

A brief pregnancy update:  I am 30 weeks along and still feeling good.  🙂  We have had a very busy last few weeks including a move, funeral, anniversary, birth class, doctor’s appointment, and now prepping for Thanksgiving (we are hosting this year)!  In future blogs I will give more information on our nursery set-up (almost done!), some crafts I have been working on, and some of my pregnancy style.

Week 30

But for this post, as promised, here are my reviews from the books I have read so far in my pregnancy journey.  Many of these books were recommended by other moms and overall I was pleased with all of the books.

The Mocha Manual to a Fabulous Pregnancy by Kimberly Seals-Allers

As you might have guessed by the name, the Mocha Manual is geared towards African-American women, but has information that applies to most pregnancies.  What is good about this book as that it emphasizes the statistics related to African American pregnancies, which are many times different than those of other races.  This book is definitely more informal than others and reads more like a friend talking you versus your doctor/practitioner.  It contains lots of stories of African-American celebs birthing/pregnancy experiences, which was interesting, but is less focused on natural childbirth if that is your interest.

Magical Beginnings, Enchanted Lives: A Guide to Pregnancy and Childbirth Through Meditation, Ayurveda, and Yoga Techniques by Deepak Chopra

This book is definitely more focused on the body and mind and natural approaches during pregnancy.  What I liked about this book was that it included different exercises to try with your spouse, such as yoga and meditation to prepare you for childbirth.  This book contains a lot of information and at times can seem technical.  I did enjoy this book though because it gave me a lot of natural approaches to dealing with pregnancy issues, such as stretching and ways to relieve stress.  The book has a very holistic approach and includes information about sounds, scents, touch, and other therapies when dealing with pregnancy.  Some of the suggestions I found more useful than others, overall I would still recommend the book.

Your Pregnancy Week by Week by Glade Curtis

This book was free through my insurance program, but it is a good book to read each week to see what to expect.  As stated in the title, this book goes through each week of pregnancy and lets you know what to typically expect in that week.  It also has tips for the father-to-be and a weekly exercise.  This is a good general information pregnancy book that gives you all the “do’s” and “don’ts” of pregnancy.  So far (in week 30), it has been a good book to review each week and see what to expect, especially since it was free. 🙂  I’m not sure that I could say this book was any better than any other general pregnancy book.

The Belly Book by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

This book is really journal, but I thought I would include it on my list because I think it’s really cute. 🙂 This is a journal for you to keep about your pregnancy experience.  It is similar to a baby book where you can add pictures and comments about your prenatal visits and how things are going week by week.  There are also places for ultrasound pictures.  The book is divided by week and into trimesters.  I think it is a cute way to document your pregnancy and is fun and light-hearted.  I can’t wait to share it with my baby when he is old enough.

Bountiful, Beautiful, Blissful: Experience the Natural Power of Pregnancy and Birth with Kundalini Yoga and Meditation by Gurmukh Kaur Khalsa

This book is broken down by the three trimesters and is focused on meditations and exercises that will help you prepare your body for childbirth.  I enjoyed the exercises provided in the book more than some of the content.  This book has a heavy focus on natural childbirth and contains many of the authors personal opinions, which is not necessarily bad, but they aren’t necessarily facts.  This book seems less formal than others which I like and is more like talking to a friend that happens to be a yogi as well. 🙂 If you are not interested in yoga or meditation during pregnancy, you would probably want to pass on this book.  If you are, this is the book for you!

Those are the books I have read so far.  Hope this review was helpful!  What books did you read to prepare for pregnancy?

 Until next time!

❤ Kia Elise 11.23.13

Leave a Reply

