Showering with Love

I have made it to 25 weeks!  Yea!  Everything is still going well.  We are still getting prepped and situated for our move this weekend.  Needless to say, I will be happy when this move is over.  You never realize how much stuff you have until you are forced to pack it up and move it!  Also, for the past few weeks I have had lots of time at home due to the government shutdown. 😦  This has added some extra stress from not receiving my full pay and trying to move at the same time.  Hopefully things will end soon.  This extra time at home has helped me to get organized for the move, which is good, but I would still rather be working.

This past weekend we had our baby shower!  We decided to do a gender-reveal shower, so everyone that attended was excited to see what we are having.  Our shower was in our hometown, Cincinnati, OH.  The shower was hosted by my sister and godmother and they did a great job.  We had a co-ed shower, which include games, food, and of course…the reveal!

Guests were asked to guess the gender of the baby with their name tags, including a pink bow for girl and a blue mustache for a boy (check out my sis and I below).

DSC_0025

Some of the games/activities included bib decorating (see photo below), name the celebrity baby (do you know this baby?), and name the baby song.

DSC_0016  DSC_0046

After all the fun and games, it was time for the big reveal!  The whole thing was perfect and they did a great job getting it all together.  I know a lot of people have been doing gender reveal parties lately, so that is where I got the idea, plus I was hoping that we would get more gender neutral items at the shower since people didn’t know the baby’s gender.  Our reveal was a gift that had a gender specific item inside.  To pull this off we didn’t look during our last ultrasound and told our ultrasound tech what we were doing for our shower.  She wrote the gender of the baby on a note and put it in a sealed envelope.  I sent the envelope to my mother, in Cincinnati, and she, my godmother, and sister decided on what to do for the reveal.  They decided to do the gift idea, but had a harder time pulling it off than I would have thought.  After going to multiple stores including BabiesRUs, Macys, and others they ended up at Pottery Barn Kids as their last option.  None of the stores would select one gift (boy or girl) and wrap it without telling them.  They all wanted them to either purchase both items or did not offer gift wrap or just didn’t understand what they were trying to do.  Pottery Barn Kids did an awesome job!  They took the two items in the back and wrapped the appropriate gift based on the envelope my mother gave them and then they rang up the item on the register without them know which item they were purchasing!  GREAT SERVICE!!! 🙂

Here are our reveal pictures:

DSC_0097   DSC_0099   DSC_0102   DSC_0100 DSC_0119

IT’S A BOY!!! 

Everyone was very excited after the reveal so we moved on to gifts next.  We got some awesome gifts from friends and family, including several gift cards, books, cloth diapers (BumGenius brand), blankets, clothes, and so much more!!!  It was  great and we felt truly loved and I’m sure Baby Bryant did too!

Hopefully I will be able to review some of our baby items in the future, because I can’t wait to try them out.  Many people we fascinated by our cloth diapers.  Most people haven’t seen the new options that are available and are expecting them to be like the basic ones from years ago.  I am excited to try them out.  This brand was recommended to me by a friend that recently had a baby and loves them so far.

More to share soon!

Lots of love,

❤ Kia Elise 10.16.13

Leave a Reply

