10K!! I did it!

As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been training for a 10K race.  This past weekend I completed my 10K.  This was my second 10K ever and I was pretty happy with the results.  Here are some tips on how I made it to my 10K.

First, below is my running schedule.  I ran 3 days a week, with my long run being on Saturday.

Week Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
1 Rest 1.5 m run CT or Rest 1.5 m run Rest 2 m run 25-30 min EZ run or CT
2 Rest 2 m run CT or Rest 2 m run Rest 2.5 m run 25-30 min EZ run or CT
3 Rest 2.5 mi run CT or Rest 2 m run Rest 3.5 m run 30-35 min EZ run or CT
4 Rest 2.5 m run CT or Rest 2 m run Rest 3.5 m run 35 min EZ run or CT
5 Rest 3 m run CT or Rest 2.5 m run Rest 4 m run 35-40 min EZ run or CT
6 Rest 3 m run CT 2.5 m run Rest 4.5 m run 35-40 min EZ run or CT
7 Rest 3.5 m run CT 3 m run Rest 5 m run 40 min EZ run or CT
8 Rest 3 m run CT or Rest 2 m run Rest Rest 10K Race!

You could add an additional week or two at the beginning depending on your level when you start.  I could run about 2 miles when I started, so I made that my first long run.  For my Cross-Training (CT), I did either cycling or the elliptical.  The elliptical is great because you can get a similar movement as running, without a much impact on your body.  I usually did my short runs in the gym on the treadmill as part of my workout.

So here are my top tips:

1) Get a good pair of running shoes – go to a store that does a gait analysis.  These stores will have you run on a treadmill and look at how you stand and your foot hits the ground when you run.  Then they will pick shoes based on your gait, which will make sure you have the right shoes.  You would be surprised what I difference shoes will make!

2) Make yourself a good, upbeat running mix. I think music is necessary for running.  It helps me to run faster and gives me an extra burst when I hear my favorite upbeat song.  For a 10K, make sure you have enough music based on your pace.  If you run a 10 min mile, you will need a little over an hour of music.  You don’t want to repeat songs if you don’t have to. 🙂

3) Good socks – I know this seems simple, but it helps when your socks aren’t sliding down in your shoe or bunching up during your run.

4) Use an app to track your progress.  I love mapmyrun.com, as I mentioned in a previous post.  This app is great because you can see how you are improving in your pace and how you do on certain elevations (hills).

5) Fun, comfy running gear.  Make sure you are comfortable when you run.  I hate when I am too cold or too hot or a shirt isn’t fitting correctly or my pants are sliding down.  These are not things you want to try to mess with or change while you are running.  Make sure you find what you like and get a few versions of the same thing.  It will help you to stay focused during your run.

6) Support.  Make sure you have a great support group.  Friends, people at work or at home that you can talk to about running.  That are proud when you reach your goals and push you try harder.

7) Running belt to hold your items.  If you plan to run long distances this is really important.  You can hold your cell phone, personal information (in case something happens and you need help), a little spare cash, or even chapstick.  Whatever you need during your run needs to be at hand and if you don’t have pockets, you will need a belt.

8) Workout plan.  Although you don’t have to workout to be a runner, it definitely makes a difference in your speed and builds your muscles, making your runs easier.  It will also help you to prevent injuries, which is very important.

9) Energy boosts.  Runners use all different types of energy boosters.  It depends on you if you decide you will need some or not.  I personally have used honey sticks, but not everyone is a fan of those.  You have to see what you like and try it out during a long run BEFORE your race.  You don’t want to try anything new on race day!

10) Register for a race!  Seriously, registering for a race is motivation to get running.  When you know you have a goal and when you need to reach it you will work harder.  I have already registered for a half marathon because I know it will keep me running. 🙂

Most important…have fun and run hard! ❤ Kia Elise 03.11.13

Leave a Reply

