What’s for Lunch? Part 2

For this post I wanted to share a few lunches that I have had over the last few weeks to give you some ideas on different lunch options…and not one sandwich!

The first option is one I tried this week and loved!  I found this recipe in my Oxygen Magazine, which is great for workouts and recipes!

These are “Quick Falafel Pitas”

Recipe: Baked Falafel Patties (makes 8 servings)

15 oz. can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

2 tbsp whole wheat flour

3 tbsp flat-leaf parsley, chopped

2 tbsp cilantro, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1/8 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp olive oil

non-stick cooking spray

1. Preheat oven to 400F.  Line a baking sheet with foil and coat with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Place all ingredients except oil in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until well blended.

3. Shape mixture into 8 balls and place onto the baking sheet.  Lightly brush the top of each patty with olive oil. Bake 10 mins, flip, then bake 10 more mins.

Tzatziki Sauce:

1/2 c plain nonfat greek yogurt; zest and juice of 1 lemon; 1 clove garlic, minced; and 3/4 c English cucumber, peeled and finely chopped (stir together in a small bowl)

IMAG0519

For lunch I had 2 Falafel patties; 1 whole wheat pita halved; 1/2 c lettuce, chopped; 1/4 cup tomato, diced; 1/4 c cucumber, sliced; 2 tbsp red onion, diced; and 4 tbsp tzatziki sauce.  I placed one falafel in each half of the pitas and filled with the other items.  I added strawberries for a little fruit.  This turned out to be a great lunch (300 calories – not counting the strawberries)!  Yummy!

Here are a few other lunches I have had lately.  The first picture is gazpacho (cold vegetable soup), strawberry/blueberry mix, mozzarella cheese, and whole wheat tortilla wraps with lettuce, hummus, and avocado.  Next we had leftover baked chicken at home so I made a salad (4th picture) one day and a chicken wrap (2nd picture) the next.  I added strawberries and cherry tomatoes and tortilla chips with the salad.  The next picture is baby carrots, basil tomato soup, salad, and cheese tortillas (almost forgot to take the picture!).  The last lunch is a salad with boiled eggs, baby carrots, grapes, and multigrain pita chips.  All very yummy lunches and all different & easy to make.

IMAG0340 IMAG0504  IMAG0406  IMAG0505     IMAG0514edit

I decided to share an easy breakfast as well.  I usually take my breakfast to work as well.  Most days I have oatmeal with fruit and nuts or flax seed, but lately I have been adding egg whites to many of my meals.  This is a quick breakfast when you are in a hurry.

Egg Whites English Muffin with Kale

IMAG0516edit

Egg whites from two large eggs

1 english muffin

Mozzarella cheese

Steamed Kale (I usually season while steaming with a little garlic, pepper, and sea salt)

Salt and Pepper to taste

I usually make a big batch of steamed kale over the weekend and this last me throughout the week for breakfast and lunch.

You start by toasting your english muffins.  Then place you egg whites in a small microwave safe bowl or mug.  You can add a little oil to keep it from sticking but it is not necessary (just scrub a little harder when doing the dishes).  Cook the eggs for about 1 min in the microwave (flip them around in the bowl and make sure they are completely cooked).  Warm your kale if it is not freshly steamed.  Add all the items to your toasted english muffins and enjoy.  If you are packing for work, as I do, simply assemble the sandwich and then toast the muffin at work and warm the other items on a separate plate or napkin.  Then re-assemble!  Yum!

I hope you enjoy these lunches…and I hope to share more later.  ❤ Kia Elise 02.15.13

2 thoughts on “What’s for Lunch? Part 2

Leave a Reply

