Fabric + Shelf = Style!

So…anybody that knows me knows that I have a crafty side.  I enjoy doing crafts to make things for around my home or decorate in a way to save a little money and end up with something great.  Hopefully this will be one of many posts about simple crafts I have done.  This particular post is how to improve a simple bookshelf.

I know all of us have or have had one of those simple bookshelves from Target or Walmart.  You know the ones that are usually about $20-$40 in the store and have 3 or 5 shelves.  I have several of these shelves and sometimes they can seem so plain.  I have a tall white one in my home right now that I have had for a few years.  I wanted to find a way to give it a little pop, but to also have it match some of my decor.

My solution to this problem was fabric!  Fabric is an easy way to tie together rooms in your home and to give items an extra pop.  I purchased some fabric from one of my favorite places, IKEA.  I purchased quite a bit of fabric and used some to cover some chairs and to make a runner for my kitchen island.  I had some extra material, so I decided to add some to my bookshelf.

For this craft all you need is the fabric, enough to cover the back of the shelf, and a staple gun.  You will put the shelf together as usual or if your shelf is already put together then you will need to remove the back (gently…you will still need it).

You will lay the shelf front down (backside up) on the floor.  Then you will lay your fabric over the back of the shelf.  Staple once (in the same place you would nail the back on) on each side in the middle, then stretch and staple the fabric along the edges.  Next put the backing on (on top of the fabric) as you would if the fabric was not there.  You can trim off any access fabric that might be hanging over the sides, if you fabric wasn’t an exact fit.  Then you are done!

Below are a few pictures of my shelf, to give you an idea of the finished product.  This is a simple, easy, and fairly inexpensive way to add a little style to your shelves.

IMAG0508     IMAG0509

Let me know what you think and how your shelves turn out! ❤ Kia Elise

Leave a Reply

